History and activities

The AVDEP: a quality-required tradition

Its History

On 23rd November 1940, some head-teachers of private schools join in association.

The border-countries are at war and the private schools suffer from its consequences, mainly because of the decrease in the number of foreign pupils due to the closing of the frontiers, the replacement of teachers, etc. The association aims to the defend its members’ interests, among which a state facilitated entry of foreign students, a better collaboration between State and Private schools as well as the creation of a Corporation of private education of Vaud, officially approved by the State Council on 28th October 1945. It also requires high-quality education as well as a tolerant-minded approach.

Its Activities

Over sixty years later, the Association – which gathers about fifty schools – has the same targets.

In the eighties, it creates an official and free school service meant to inform and direct both parents and students towards its member-schools which offer plenty of preschool, school, professional and cultural programmes, various and efficient educational methods, personalised supervision allowing for each pupil to find a curriculum best-adapted to his/her needs and personal development as well as to reach his/her own targets.

At national level, private schools gather in a Swiss Federation of Private Schools (FSEP) with about 250 members. This federation aims to maintain the private schools’ fame, to improve education and up-bringing, to defend its members’ professional interests as well as to promote solidarity and experience exchange.

At European level, the AVDEP is a member of the European Federation of Schools, involved in the creation of European degrees, and is endowed with the participative status at the European Council as a Non-Governmental Organisation.

The AVDEP offers interested parents and students a free information service. It gives all necessary information about the different schools, their characteristics and their curriculum. Its consultation implies no obligation on the part of the parents. The AVDEP is thus able to guide possibly interested students at best..

Its pedagogies

The teachers take active part in the school’s life and its development, in the drafting of programmes as well as in their application, which explains their involvement in and dedication to their job. Therefore, private schools increasingly become places both respectful of tradition and inclined to research and innovation in order to improve their teaching, thus adapting to the socio-cultural and economical evolution as well as to the labour-market.

The AVDEP today:

Historique et activités

L’AVDEP : la tradition que la qualité exige.

Son histoire

Des directeurs d’écoles privées se réunissent en association le 23 novembre 1940.

Les pays voisins sont en guerre et les écoles privées en subissent les conséquences, notamment la diminution des élèves étrangers en raison de la fermeture des frontières, le remplacement des enseignants, etc. L'association se fixe comme buts la défense des intérêts de ses membres, l’obtention de l’Etat qu’il facilite l’entrée des étudiants étrangers, l’établissement d’une meilleure collaboration entre les écoles publiques et privées et la création d’ une Corporation vaudoise de l’enseignement privé, reconnue officiellement par le Conseil d’Etat le 28 octobre 1945. Elle travaille aussi à la qualité de l’enseignement et à la construction d’un esprit de tolérance.

Ses activités

Plus de septante ans plus tard, l’Association – qui compte une cinquantaine d’écoles – poursuit les mêmes buts.

Dans les années quatre-vingts, elle a créé un service scolaire, officiel et gratuit, destiné à informer et orienter les parents et les étudiants vers ses écoles membres qui offrent une multitude de programmes pré-scolaires, scolaires, professionnels et culturels, des méthodes variées et efficaces, un encadrement personnalisé permettant à chaque élève de trouver la formation la mieux adaptée à ses besoins et à son épanouissement, ainsi qu’à ses objectifs propres.

A l’échelon national, les écoles privées sont groupées en une Fédération suisse des écoles privées (FSEP) qui compte près de 250 membres. Cette fédération s’est donné pour but le maintien de la bonne renommée des instituts privés, l’amélioration de l’enseignement et de l’éducation, la défense des intérêts professionnels de ses membres, la solidarité et les échanges d’expérience.

A l’échelon européen, l’AVDEP est membre de la Fédération européenne des écoles qui travaille notamment à la création de diplômes européens et est dotée du statut participatif auprès du Conseil de l’Europe au titre des Organisations Non Gouvernementales.

L’Association vaudoise des écoles privées a créé un service gratuit d’information à l’attention des parents et des élèves intéressés. Il permet d'obtenir toutes les informations nécessaires sur les différentes écoles, leurs caractéristiques et leurs programmes. Sa consultation ne présuppose aucun engagement de la part des parents. L'AVDEP est donc en mesure de guider au mieux les élèves potentiellement intéressés.

Ses pédagogies

Les enseignants participent activement à la vie de l’école et à son évolution, pour la structure des programmes comme pour son application, ce qui explique leur motivation et leur passion pour leur métier. Ainsi l’école privée devient toujours davantage un lieu à la fois respectueux des traditions et favorable aux recherches et innovations pour améliorer son enseignement, s’adaptant à l’évolution socio-culturelle et économique actuelle ainsi qu’au marché du travail.

L’AVDEP aujourd’hui :